The Big Change

February 21, 2013 at 2:15 am (Uncategorized) (, , , )

I know that the truth is I haven’t blogged in a long time.  Ebooks used to occupy most of my professional activities.  When it came to eBooks, you name it, I was doing it.  Things have changed, and for what I see, maybe the better.  I am still an eLibrarian.  I still talk about eBooks at conferences.  Yet I am now in a more well-rounded place, surrounded by a more dynamic and technologically savvy-enviroment.

What does the first paragraph mean?  I am currently in a new field.  I have moved from being in Circulation, to running the behind the scenes in Automation, to now

...change...

…change… (Photo credit: ĐāżŦ {mostly absent})

fronting a brand new department, the Technology Learning Center (TLC).  It is an instructional lab for both patrons and staff alike, where new technologies are the forefront of our focus.  I am loving what I do.

With that said, I thought I would change the focus of my blog.  In the past, I discussed the parameters of eBooks and electronic borrowing policies, as well as it’s impact on public librarians and the communities they serve.  I have to now change that focus to highlight the new purpose I am trying to fulfill.  Do not misunderstand me.  EBooks are still a huge part of what I assist with on a daily basis; however, currently I am trying to revamp a computer lab that mainly taught basic computer classes, such as email 101.  We have added a lot since i took over in July, including classes on Google programs, apps, devices, and genre-specific classes within the guidelines of technology.

With all that said, I am also in an area that is completely new, and in many more ways, foreign to me.  We are planning to physically expand our small room to a functioning multi-room space.  We are looking towards building a sound recording studio, Makers Lab with 3D printers, digitizing equipement, and creative software, a modulare teaching space, Mac classes (totally new), as well as many other unforeseen and seen ideas.

This is now an exciting time.  My library has decided to not only embrace technology, but be the forefront of its possibilities for our community.  We are reaching out as a forerunner, as opposed to trying to play catchup.  Within the few months of our restructure (just classes) we are a bit overwhelmed, yet tackling the issues.

So I am now planning to blog on my adventure of planning a technology learning center from the ground up.  This will include areas I do not have training in, such as architecture and infrastructure.  It’s a new, and often frightening place, but I am going for gold.  I am planning to have a place that is inviting, instructional, innovative, while not be intimidating.

If you would like to read about this journey, please feel free to comment with ideas, criticisms, and support.  I would love the feedback. I will listen to all along my journey.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

